## I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2008 (SECOND) Regular Session

**Executive Committee Resolution No. 160** 

Introduced by:

Edward J.B. Calvo
Ray Tenorio
Tina Rose Muña Barnes
Frank F. Blas, Jr.
B. J.F. Cruz
James V. Espaldon
Mark Forbes
Judith Paulette Guthertz
Frank T. Ishizaki
J. A. Lujan
A. B. Palacios, Sr.
v. c. pangelinan
R. J. Respicio
David L.G. Shimizu
J. T. Won Pat

Relative to Commending and Congratulating the *Guam Business* Executive of the Year and *Guam Business* celebrating their 25<sup>th</sup> Anniversary.

- BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I
- 2 MINA BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:
- 3 WHEREAS, on March 1, 1983, the founders first published Guam
- 4 Business, a bi-monthly magazine covering in depth and detail business news
- 5 of Guam and Micronesia; and

1 WHEREAS, Guam Business continues capturing the pulse of Guam's

2 vibrant and growing business community in many ways, and provides that

- 3 information in a well-written, well-designed magazine; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Managing Director, Marcos Fong, and Publisher, Maureen
- 5 N. Maratita, vigorously combine their efforts to maintain the reputation of
- 6 Guam Business as the recognized authority on business in Micronesia, and
- 7 enjoys a reputation for accuracy and fairness; and
- 8 WHEREAS, special recognition to a well-deserving, dedicated staff of
- 9 Guam Business for their work, the senior members being Publisher, Ms.
- 10 Maureen N. Maratita; Editor, Ms. Faye Varias; and Production Supervisor,
- 11 Ms. Nerita Enderes; and
- WHEREAS, through consistent editorial quality, attractive production,
- 13 exciting and well-written articles, *Guam Business* has set journalistic standards
- 14 in Micronesia, the magazine, its writers and photographers having been
- 15 recipients of numerous awards from the Guam Press Club, the Society of
- 16 Professional Journalists, the U.S. Small Business Administration, and the
- 17 business community; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Guam Business contributes to Guam's business community
- 19 and the Guam Chapter of the American Red Cross working collaboratively
- 20 with Ms. Chita A. Blaise, Chief Executive Officer, Guam Chapter of the
- 21 American Red Cross, on the annual fundraising gala for the American Red
- 22 Cross. Special recognition to Mr. Ray Gibson and Ms. Patti Arroyo of K57, for
- 23 their continuous support as emcees during the gala that includes the naming

- 1 of an Executive of the Year chosen from nominees from Micronesia's business
- 2 community; and
- 3 WHEREAS, past winners of the prestigious Executive of the Year
- 4 distinction include Mr. Robert H. Jones, 1983; Mr. John M. Borlas, 1984; Mr.
- 5 Philip J. Flores, 1985; Ms. Doris Flores Brooks, 1986; Mr. Mark V. Pangilinan,
- 6 1987; Mr. Allen A. Pickens, 1988; Mr. †T. Roy Sullivan, 1989; Mr. Kurt S.
- 7 Moylan, 1990; Mr. Akira "Mike" Baba, 1991; Mr. Paul M. Calvo, 1992; Mr.
- 8 Antoinette D. Sanford, 1993; Mr. Kenneth T. Jones Jr., 1994; Mr. †Edward M.
- 9 Calvo, 1995; Mr. L. Carl Peterson, 1996; Mr. William R. Thompson, 1997; Mr.
- 10 John K. Lee, 1998; Mr. †Henry L. Schnabel, 1999; Ms. Marian Aldan-Pierce,
- 2000; Mr. Manfred H. Pieper, 2001; Mr. Thomas G. Ahillen, 2002; Mr. Juan T.
- 12 Guerrero, 2003; Mr. Joseph "Jerry" Kramer and Mr. Joseph "Joey" Crisostomo,
- 13 2004; Mr. David M. Sablan, 2005; and Mr. Alfred C. Ysrael, 2006; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Guam Business, a bi-monthly magazine covering in depth
- 15 and detail the business news of Guam and Micronesia, celebrates the 25th
- 16 Guam Business Executive of the Year on January 12, 2008, and the 25th
- 17 Anniversary of Guam Business magazine on March 1, 2008; now, therefore, be
- 18 it
- 19 **RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na
- 20 Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the
- 21 people of Guam, extends its congratulations to Guam Business on its 25<sup>th</sup>
- 22 Anniversary; and be it further
- 23 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Executive
- 24 Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption

- 1 hereof and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Mr. Marcus
- 2 Fong, Managing Director, Guam Business; to Ms. Maureen N. Maratita,
- 3 Publisher, Guam Business; to Ms. Faye Varias, Editor, Guam Business; to Ms.
- 4 Nerita Enderes, Supervisor Production, Guam Business; to Ms. Chita A. Blaise,
- 5 Chief Executive Officer, Guam Chapter of the American Red Cross; to Mr. Ray
- 6 Gibson, K57 and Ms. Patti Arroyo, K57; and to the Honorable Felix P.
- 7 Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINABENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE  $11^{\text{TH}}$  DAY OF JANUARY 2008.

EDWARD J.B. CALVO
Acting Speaker and
Chairman, Executive Committee

FRANK F. BLAS, JR.
Senator and Acting
Secretary of the Legislature